Argentine polo superstar Nacho Figueras feared he was paralysed

NachoFigueraspoloaccident

Famous Argentine polo player and Polo Ralph Lauren model, Nacho Figueras talks to 60 minutes about his recent close call in his horrific polo accident in the UK last month and how he feared he was paralysed after he couldn’t move his legs.

Last month Ignacio “Nacho” Figueras had the scare of his life when he fell playing polo and temporarily lost the feeling in his legs. Nacho speaks to Lara Logan on the next edition of 60 Minutes Sports to be broadcast on Wednesday 3rd July at 9PM on Showtime.

During a charity match at Cowdray Park in England last month, Nacho’s horse caught the back legs of another horse. Nacho’s horse fell on him and then trod on him as it stood up. Nacho broke his acetabulum which is the part of the pelvis where the femur goes in.

“I knew exactly that second I was broken. I knew that – I know that something was not right,” he says recalling the accident to 60 Minutes Sports. “I felt like a needle in the centre of my body going like, ching!”

Nacho then went on to describe how his feelings in the ambulance on the way to the hospital. When he heard the paramedic asking the driver to speed up he began to feel the greatest fear anyone can ever feel. “I couldn’t feel my legs. So I started to fear that I was not going to walk anymore,” he tells Logan.

Once he reached the hospital, he began to feel sensation in his toes and began to feel relieved. He also learnt that the paramedic had asked the driver to sped up in case Nacho had been suffering from internal bleeding. Nacho recalls his relief after being scared he would no longer compete in polo or even walk. Figueras recalls how he told the paramedic “You made me scared for a little bit.”

Watch the excerpt here.

NachoFigueras_GettyImages
Credit: Getty Images

Nacho’s recent injury may have been his worst but it is certainly not his first, having sustained a long list of injuries during his polo career from breaking his wrist, ankle, nose (twice), being knocked out twice and of course lots of stitches.

But even his latest scare won’t put him off the sport he loves. Nacho says he’s raring to go as soon as he is better: “I can’t wait to get back on the horse. I can’t wait to go flat out again. I’m not going to stop until God tells me not to play polo anymore.”

Source:

Related articles

9 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

